Sprinter Lisa Gross Powers Saline Victory at Monroe

 04/22/2015 - 13:07

Lisa Gros won the 100 and 200 sprints at Monroe Tuesday.

Saline’s varsity girls track and field team improved to 3-0 in the SEC Red with a lopsided victory at Monroe. The Lady Hornets outscored the Trojans in every area, winning 105-32.

Lisa Gross won the 100 and 200-meter sprints to pace the Hornets to victory. Erin Connor, who won the shot put and discus, was Saline’s other double winner.

Gross, a sophomore, won the 100 in 13.23. Andrea Luurtsema was second (13.72). Gross won the 200 in 28.57. Jordan Page was third in 29.85.

Hannah Cummings (1:02.3) led a 1-2-3 Hornet finish in the 400. Lillian Scheske (1:02.88) and Lauren Green (1:07.44) were second and third. Sophia O’Connor won the junior varsity race.

Monroe’s Elisabeth LaPrad won the 800 and 1600. Saline’s Jessica Larson (2:35) was second and Taylor Vaughan was third (2:40.99) in the 800. Larson also ran the 1600, finishing second in 5:15.31. Abby Rentschler was third in 5:20.

Rentschler won the 3200 in 11:58.95. Gillian Walter was right behind her in 11:59.43. Regan Smith, Lillie Phelps, Danielle Fillmore, Regan Barsch, Alexa Reyst, Holly Treber and Abby Wilson gave Saline a sweep of the race’s top spots.

Junior Sara Foley won the 100 meter hurdles in 17.93. Maddie Keith (18.2) was second and Carrie Theisen (18.72) was third. Katie Mulligan won the junior varsity race.

Haleigh Cummings won the 300 hudles in 51.46, edging Keith by .2 seconds. Alexandra Haugen was thid in 53.42. Averi Strok won the junior varsity race.

The Hornets won all four relays.

Erin Connor won the shot put with a throw of 35 feet. Elaine Schwingle (31-03) was third. Connor won the discus with a throw of 101-07. Schwingel was second (99-07) and Vic Black was third (93-03).

Lillian Scheske won the pole vault again, clearing 8 feet. Lizzie Weeden cleared 6-06 to finish second.

In the long jump, Haugen was second (15-02). Lauren Sayre was second in the high jump (5-02). Maddie Keith was third (4-10).


Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore founded The Saline Post on Aug. 15, 2012. Follow him on Twitter at @tranlongmoore. Follow The Saline Post @thesalinepost. Follow The Saline Post on Facebook by clicking here.