Gallery: Saline Dominates Another SEC Red Track Meet

 04/27/2016 - 20:34

The Saline boys enjoyed another dominant SEC Red track and field victory Tuesday. Saline won all but four events to defeat Skyline, 111-26.

In the sprints, David Alberdi won with a time of 11.71. He edged Connor Hibbard by just .05 seconds. Jeb Palka was third (11.87) and Konrad Dixon (11.91) was fourth. Sophomore Gero Fehn won the JV race in 11.95.

Saline also went 1-2-3-4 in the 200, with Sean Duffy taking the race in 23.64. Dixon (23.78), Mitchell Carter (24.12) and Fehn (24.19) followed. Demetri Theocharakis and Benjamin Walkusky tied for first in the JV race (25.05).

Harrison Koch won the 400 (54.26). Theocharakis was second (54.82).

Skyline’s Anthony Giannobile won the 800 in 1:56.45. Brian Blankenship (1:57.45) was second. Austin Welch (3rd, 1:58.46), John Giles, Eric Wu, Bryan Adamovicz and Joshua Cook took the next five places.

Anthony DeKraker won the 1600 in 4:29.70. Aidan Carichner (2nd, 4:38), Evan Koerschner (3rd, 4:39.20), Derek Liemohn) and Neil Garg gave Saline sweep of the top five places.

Skyline’s Justin Michele won the 3200 in 10:10.87. Freshman Simon Pfeiffer was Saline’s top runner, taking third in 1:45.

Jordan Elliot (18.28) led a 1-through-5 Saline finish in the 110 hurdles. Skyline’s Kyle Sowell-Peeples won the 300 hurdles. Tyler Kudlak was second in 44.74 and Jordan Elliot was third in 45.59.

Saline won all four relays.

In the field, Brandon Brown won the shot put (45-01). Ben Drake (37-09), Matthew Sayre (37-08) and Caleb Rufener (36-02) gave Saline the top four spots.

Skyline’s Hunter Goodman won the discus (117-08). Austin Hannah was second (106.09) and Brandon brown was third (104-04).

Matt Wood cleared 5-10 to win the high jump.  Benedict Watson leaped 18-02 to win the long jump, going one inch further than Wood. Kyle Nouhan cleared 14 feet to take the pole vault. Eric Harris was second at 13 feet.

Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore founded The Saline Post on Aug. 15, 2012. Follow him on Twitter at @tranlongmoore. Follow The Saline Post @thesalinepost. Follow The Saline Post on Facebook by clicking here.