Gallery: Lady Hornets Run Past Pioneer in SEC Track Meet

 04/17/2015 - 23:33

Senior Lillian Scheske won the 400 meter race and the pole vault as Saline defeated Pioneer.

The Saline girls track and field team improved to 2-0 in the SEC Red with a 103-34 victory over Pioneer at Saline High School Thursday.

(Photo gallery below, click any photo. More photos at this link)

The Hornets won all but three events on the track and one event in the field.

Senior Lillian Scheske (400 meters and pole vault) and junior Erin Connor (shot put and discus) each won two individual events to lead Saline. Saline won all four relays.

Sophomore Lisa Gross won the 200 meter sprint in 27.47. Alexia Bowden (28.8) and Jordan Page (29.17) finished third and fourth. Sara Barnett won the junior varsity race in 29.78.

Scheske led a 1-2-3 finish for Saline in the 400. She finished the race in 1:02.96. Ashley Amegan was second (1:03.66) and Lauren Green was third (1:06.96).

Junior Hannah Cummings blew away the field in the 800, finishing in 2:22.65 – nearly eight seconds faster than the second fastest girl. Saline junior Regan Smith was third in 2:33.66.

Senior Abby Rentschler (5:18.92) edged freshman teammate Jessica Larson (5:19.24) in the 1600 meters. Haleigh Cummings (5:47) was fourth.

Junior Gillian Walter was first in the 3200, finishing in 11:38.58. Junior Lillie Phelpss (12:34) and sophomore Regan Barsch (12:35) finished second and third. Saline swept the top eight spot – with Holly Treber, Rebecca Cantrell, Rachel Rosati, Hannah Wilson and Oliva Habart placing for the Hornets.

Pioneer’s Alice Hill won both hurdles events. Saline junior Sara Foley was second in the 100 meter hurdles (17.74) and Maddie Keith was third (18.11). Lauren Sayre (19.17) won the junior varsity race. In the 300 hurdles, Maddie Keith was second (52.2) and Kyra Ross was third (55.89).  Freshman Ellie Beakman won the junior varsity race in 57.24.

Pioneer’s Nicole Wilson won the 100 meters in 13.15. Sophomore Andrea Luurtsema was Saline’s fastest runner, placing third in 13.66. Jordan Page (13.93) was fourth.

In the field, junior Erin Connor was first in shot put (33-11.25) and Discus (98-01). Senior Elaine Schwingel was second in shot put (30-00.75). Vic Black was second in shot out (90-02).

Junior Kyra Ross took the high jump, clearing 4’10. Lauren Sayre (4-10) was second and Maddie Keith (4-08) was third.

Scheske won the pole vault by clearing 9 feet. Alexandra Haugen was second, clearing 8-06.

Pioneer’s Nicole Wilson won the long jump (16-10). Haugen was second, leaping 15-01.5. Kaitlyn Mulligan was fourth (13-04.5) and Maddie Keith was fifth (13-03.75).

Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore founded The Saline Post on Aug. 15, 2012. Follow him on Twitter at @tranlongmoore. Follow The Saline Post @thesalinepost. Follow The Saline Post on Facebook by clicking here.