Saline High School Debate Team: Tops in the State of Michigan

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 01/11/2015 - 15:49

On Saturday, Jan, 10, the Saline High School Debate Team, in its second year of competition, earned the George Ziegelmueller Award. This prestigious award was an entire team effort.

The  Ziegelmueller award is presented annually to the best overall debate program in the state of Michigan. It uses a mathematical formula compiling credits for all debates won and lost at both the Varsity and Novice State Debate Tournaments (Policy and Public Forum) as well as those participating in Legislative Debate in each school year.

Saline Varsity Public Forum Debate Team: Number Two in the State

Also on January 10, the Saline High School Varsity Debate Team won second place in the state championship public forum finals at Saginaw Valley State University.

Varsity 2nd Place State  Champion Trophy.jpg

The team of Egi Karafili (senior) and Sarah Karkoura (junior) competed against a team from Dexter High School in the final round by arguing in favor of the resolution that “The United Nations peacekeepers should have the power to engage in offensive operations.” Additionally, Chase Hipchen (senior) placed second and Egi Karafili placed fourth in the tournament for speaker’s points.

Also debating at the varsity team championship were Devyn Howe, who with Hipchen went 5-0 in the competition prior to the final round; Mackenzie Hagood and Tyler Vaughan; Carl Tighe and Ralph Tiglao; and Sam Rentschler and Julian Rodriguez.

Saline Novice Public Forum Debate Team: First Place in the State

The Saline High School Novice Public Forum Debate Team won first place in the state competition, which took place at West Bloomfield High School on Saturday, Dec. 13, 2014. 20141213_180628 (1).jpg


Arguing against the resolution that “On balance, the benefits of genetically modified foods outweigh the harms,” first year debaters Karkoura and Hipchen won their final debate against Cranbrook School (a private college preparatory boarding school in Bloomfield Township) with a unanimous judges’ decision of 3-0.

Karkoura also placed second in the tournament for speaker’s points.

Other Novice Debate Team contestants were Carl Tighe (who tied for fifth place in speaker points), Chris Stankovic, Matt Brown, and Ralph Tiglao.

(Submitted by coach Shelly Venema)


Saline Post Staff's picture
The Saline Post
Sign up for The Saline Post, start posting and reach thousands of Salinians each day. It's free and you can start at

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog