Gallery: Saline Salutes Our Most Dedicated Citizens

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 03/27/2018 - 00:44

People gathered to recognize the community's most dedicated citizens Friday as the Saline Area Chamber of Commerce hosted the 29th annual Saline Salutes awards program at EHM Senior Solutions Center for Innovation and Education.

The honorees were Rebecca Schneider, Citizen of the Year; Mary Lindquist, Lifetime Achievement; Paul Schwimmer, Orrin Parsons Distinguished Veteran Award; Kurt Schneider, First Responder Award; Major John J. Sheridan, Hometown Hero (active duty); and Melinda McCabe, Youth of the Year. McCabe and Major Sheridan were not able to attend.

The honorees were recognized by US Rep. Tim Walberg, City of Saline Mayor Brian Marl and by Saline Area Chamber of Commerce Executive Director John Olsen. An official from State Rep. Donna Lasinski's office also sent along recognition from state government. Saline City Council members Janet Dillon and Christen Mitchell also attended, as did former Mayor Gretchen Driskell.

The event drew past Citizen of the Year award winners Jill Durnen, Dave Eberlein and Karen Ragland. Other past honorees in attendance included Jim Peters (Lifetime Achievement Award), Tim Driscoll (Orrin Parsons Award), and George A. Anderson Vision Award winners Cindy Czubko, John Olsen, Gretchen Driskell and Carla Scruggs.

Guests mixed in the lobby as they enjoyed music performed by a string quartet from Saline High School and delicious hors d'oeuvres.


Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at [email protected] or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog