Saline 4x400 Relay Team Seals 9th Straight SEC Title by Winning Meet's Final Event

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 05/11/2019 - 11:06
Saline's 4-by-400 relay team sealed the Hornets' ninth straight SEC Red championship by winning the meet's final event. (Photos by Peter Draugalis |

Saline's all-around depth ruled the day as the Hornets captured their ninth straight SEC Red boys track and field title at Monroe Friday.

Saline entered the event in the driver's seat, having won each of their SEC dual meets. And then they took first in the SEC meet to seal the deal. Saline finished with 143.5 points - 10.5 better than second place Huron. Pioneer, 104, Bedford, 103, Skyline, 85.5, and Monroe completed the standings.

The Hornets won without winning a single individual event on the track - and despite a disqualification in the 400 relay.

Thanks in large part to a strong performance in the field, Saline entered the meet's final event with a slight lead over Huron - 133.5 - 127. Saline needed a fourth place in the 4-by-400 relay to clinch the meet. Saline went out as champions in the 4-by-400 and the meet, winning the race in 3:27.17. Huron was third in 3:30.22.

Saline performed well in the field. Ian Hanby won the discus with a throw of 143-3. John Frick (6th, 113-8) and Garrett Beazley (103-7) also finished in the top 10. In the long jump, Silas Schaerer leaped 19-0.5 to take first. Kyle Greenwood (7th, 18.25) and Nicholas Borneo (8th, 18-0.5) also finished in the top 10. 

Max Schneider cleared 13 feet to finish second in the pole vault. Colin Nouhan (6th, 11-7) and Jordan Harris (9th, 10-1) also placed in the top 10.

In the shot put, Frick (5th, 40-1) and Hanby (6th, 39-3) placed in the top 10.

Saline's victory in the meet's final event was the only win on the track. The 800 relay team was second in 1:32.92. The 3200 relay team was second in 8:09.

Individually, the Hornets couldn't win a race - but they piled up points with depth.

Junior Will Minette was second in the 3200 meters (9:50.43). Cristopher Clisham was eighth in 10:10.02

Two Hornets finished in the scoring (top six) in the 1600. Minnettee was third in 4:28.54 and Simon Pfeiffer was fifth in 4:29.7. In the 800, the Hornets placed three in scoring and five in the top 10. Cam Bacarella (4th, 2:00.11), Brock Boze (5th, 2:00.35) and Christopher Van Dyke (6th, 2:00.35) finished in succession. Pfeiffer (9th, 2:01.53) and Jevin Nishioka (10th, 2:02.68) also ran for Saline.

In the 400, sopomore Andrew Victoria was third in 52.03. Jacob Stuck (8th, 54.13) and Kyle Lentine (9th, 54.13) also ran for the Hornets. Kyle Greenwood was fifth in the 200 (23.53). Niels Linde (8th, 24.00) and Joshua Pattillo-Rush (9th, 24.03) also finished in the top 10. Jamari Harris Pryce (6th, 11.64) and Brayden Stavros (9th, 11.91) had top finishes in the 100 dash.

Saline scored important points in the 300 hurdles. Luke Atzkinger (3rd, 43.76), Eric Reuter (4th, 44.08) and Nathan Irgang (5th, 44.44) scored for Saline. In the 110 Hurdles, Atzinger was sixth in 17.18 and Irgang was seventh in 17.2.

Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at [email protected] or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog